How do you always do a good job?

When spirits are low, energy is depleted and work seems a bit shite, how are you meant to keep on doing a good job? I really don’t know but that is just how I felt last week.

Being over-worked sometimes means things get left out, over-looked, mislaid and then mistakes are made. I had got myself into a rut where just looking at my email inbox filled me with dread. “You need some Sacred Time,” said a business coach. “Time when you can calmly look ahead and plan.” I kind of knew that and I could see a window in my diary when that might be possible.

I also just needed a day off. I booked one first and then the other (guess which :)).

I’ve been toying over swapping roles – basically changing one set of problems for another. I do find change energising, but actually, when I’ve three kids and general life to manage, plus a full on job, do I REALLY need to add a large scale job change into the mix? Probably not. I must be getting older and wiser as I wouldn’t have said that pre-40.

But I digress. Instead of just swapping one problem for another, how could I get my work-mojo back? There are two bits of advice that I heard last week that made me sit up straight and Get On With It. One was from my husband (he’d be so proud!) He just stated as a matter-of-fact; “I always do a good job.”

Crikey. No confidence or internal struggles there then.

The second was from a fabulous entrepreneur who was keynote speaker at an event. He quoted Martin Luther King:

“If a man is called to be a street sweeper, he should sweep streets even as a Michaelangelo painted, or Beethoven composed music or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say, ‘Here lived a great street sweeper who did his job well.”

Today I am sweeping my street.

Leave a Reply

